Learning to Delight in the One who Delights in Me

imagesO8R1YYJT

“Trust in the Lord and do good; dwell in the land and enjoy safe pasture. Delight yourself in the Lord and he will give you the desires of your heart. Commit your way to the Lord; trust in Him and he will do this: He will make your righteousness shine like the dawn, the justice of your cause like the noonday sun.” Psalm 37: 3-6

I used to read this passage and only have eyes for, “the Lord will give you the desires of your heart.”  How wonderful I thought. God wants to give me the desires of my heart! I seemed to subconsciously ignore the part about delighting in the Lord and trusting him. Details…details.

Before I had my son, I delighted in things like

  • a good sandwich
  • a well brewed cup of coffee
  • a leisurely walk on the beach
  • a pistachio chocolate bar
  • a mason jar full of freshly made juice
  • the feel of the southern California sun on my face

Now that I’m a mom, when I think about what I delight in, it’s my son every time. He brings me so much joy, I find myself singing silly songs to him and dancing as if I could with him. I wake up and think of him. I wonder what he’s doing throughout my days at work. I physically ache to see him and hold him when he’s not with me. My days are consumed with thoughts of him and joy filled interactions with my him.

One of my favorite passages in the bible is well known Zephaniah 3:17. “The Lord your God is with you, he will quiet you with his love, he will rejoice over you with singing.”

God is with us. Not only with us, he calms us as we tread through uncertainty, fear, chaos, busyness, etc.. He loves us. On top of all of that, he absolutely rejoices in us so much so he bursts into song at the very thought of us! If I do this with my son, how much more does our Creator and Father delight in us?

Of the many theories of how the creation story played out, my favorite is the one that suggests God sang creation into being. What if God, in his overwhelming love for all his creation, sang all things into being? What if he delights in you and in me so much that he is ever present, ever caring, endlessly loving and rejoicing over us with song each and every day of our lives?

When we know we’re loved, it changes how we live. If anyone has ever affirmed you, applauded you, encouraged you, doesn’t it give you confidence to be comfortable in who you are, inspire you and motivate you to love and encourage others the way you’ve been loved and encouraged? Have you experienced this? I hope so!

My son has taught me what it is to delight. I’m awestruck when I consider how God delights in me. And I have a lot of learning to do when it comes to delighting in God. As I think of my son constantly, I’m reminded to meditate upon my Creator and giver of every good and perfect in my life.

David, a man coined as a one after the heart of God, delighted in God’s word. “I delight in your decrees; I will not neglect your word.” Psalm 119:16

What if I delighted in Gods word the way I delight in my son and coffee? Just as I desire to bless my son with basic needs – food, clothes, shelter, etc. – I also desire to give him above and beyond what he needs, encouraging him to go after what he desires. I think it works the same with God. God longs for us to know him, to receive his gift of life through belief and acceptance of his Son Jesus and to bless us beyond what we could ever imagine. He truly delights in us in ways we will never fully comprehend. His love for us is overwhelming.

And so, thanks to learning what it means to delight from my son, I am learning how to delight in God, in his word, his ways and in his unwavering love.

What do you delight in? What causes you to burst into song at the very thought of it? Do you know how much God delights in you and rejoices over your life?

May you know how your Creator delights in you and may you find absolutely joy and delight in him today!

Leave a Reply

